Indianapolis, In- Haughville area

10 Replies

Hello everyone!

Does anyone know if the Haughville area of Indianapolis, IN is a good to invest in?

I'm by no means an expert but work with Ed Neu. He's been investing in indy 20+ years. Information ive gained from him heres what ive put together. Its majority low c & d class properties, so if youre looking for that and can handle tenant turns more routinely and majorly distressed properties. Id say look more into areas of high demand. Bates-hen , fountian square , broad ripple, irvinton, couple other aread north west, devonshire. ( id say look for high c-b class properties, larger intial investment but solid returns, better/longer tenants, cheaper turns, better quality property) like i said not an expert so any feedback or others advice much appreciated.

Thanks a bunch Aaron!  This helps a lot... Much appreciated! 

@Cherese Bailey I've not invested there personally but I would skip it. Too much crime. Too much drug activity. I would anticipate difficulty in attracting a quality tenant and in limiting tenant turnover. I'd consider it a "D" area and would instead seek out a "C" asset elsewhere which might cost 10% - 25% more but would be a better overall investment. 

@Cherese Bailey Like others have said, I would avoid that area unless you have experience with that class of tenant.  East of Haughville there is an area called Stringtown that has some good things happening.

@Cherese Bailey

If you're buying for a long term hold (10+ years), I'd definitely consider it as long as you can buy close to the river and the bridge across (is that 10th?).  IUPUI is building across the river.  More students = more opportunity for growth!