PEOBLEMS WITH CLOSING FIRST FLIP (agent issues)

32 Replies

Hello BP family. My name is Huso Akaratovic and I am from Newport News, Virginia. As I am not new to BP, however, this is my first time doing an official introduction in the forum. I have been reading a lot of posts and have learned plenty from all of you and I appreciate it a lot! I have a full time job, and invest on the side. I purchased my first property January-2015 and since then acquired a total of 8 up to date. Prior to making my first purchase, I spent time reading and learning and surrounded myself with likeminded people. I like investing into rentals, flips, and I’m slowly transitioning into small apartment buildings and commercial properties. I currently have my first flip house under contract and have encountered an issue with my agent. I am struck and in need of guidance. Any assistance is much appreciated. There were discrepancies between the listing agent and I. The property we were selling was listed at $84 900. The offer came in at $80 000 with a request to pay for the buyers closing cost up to 3% and no more than $2400. I have agreed to these terms. Once the inspection was completed the seller sent a Property Inspection Contingency Removal Addendum (PICRA). I reviewed the PICRA and have agreed to repair the items on that list, but I counter offered them stating that I will not pay the closing cost. My listing agent prepared an additional addendum and indicated that I was not going to pay the closing cost. She forwarded the PICRA and the separate addendum to the buyer's agent. Several days went by and the buyer's have advised that they will sue me for the breach of contract if I do not comply with paying their closing cost. At this point I was not aware that I was in violation. Once i completed review of the contract, it was determined that my listing agent made a mistake by submitting a separate addendum. Instead she was supposed counter my offer on the PICRA form for it to be valid. I i