Overall real-estate growth strategies: Short and Medium-term

4 Replies

Hey all,

I'm new to BiggerPockets but have been rapidly trying to get as much information as possible about real estate investing, from here, the BP podcast, and from other books and websites as well.  My question to those with experience in real estate investing is this:  what strategies have you found to be the most successful in getting your real estate investment portfolio off the ground?  

My initial thought when I decided to enter the real estate game was to try and acquire rental properties as quickly as possible so I can build cash flow.  Now, however, I am becoming more attracted to the notion of trying to flip properties in my early years as much as possible, so I can generate a good starting cash base and a cash-flush business, then once that is established build a portfolio of rental properties to generate long-term stable cash flow.  I'm interested to hear other investors' takes on this, either those with lots of experience or those starting out.

Thanks,

Andy

I'm in a similar situation and have been considering doing the BRRR strategy vs. just flipping for a while. If you can purchase the types of properties you eventually want buy and hold then it might make sense to just start in with the BRRR, as your amount of capital shouldn't decrease after you refinance each place you buy. If you can't currently buy what your long term goal for cash flow is (e.g. a 100 unit multifamily) then maybe flipping to build up enough capital for this kind of purchase would make sense. I'm not sure, and am interested to hear what others will suggest.