Newbie Questions Help

2 Replies

So admittedly I'm a newbie at this, and I'm not afraid to say it but I'm not afraid to learn and roll up my sleeves.  I have a few quick questions.

1.  What is your favorite book/blog/vlog/podcast that describes the math involved with Real Estate? 

2.  How did you come up with your criteria for the first house you purchased?  This still seems magical to me, as no one has been able to give a clear precise method of making these decisions. I'm an engineer, and so I'm hoping that the answer to question 1, will help with question 2. I'm methodical and need reasons. I know its a personal decision, but I need to know what to avoid and how the math works.

3. What was your biggest fear when you first started, and how did you overcome it?

Cheers

Linda

Hey Linda,

1. The Book on Estimating Rehab Costs by J. Scott

2. Depends on your end goal... I know its not the sexiest answer but in my opinion, its the ONLY answer... Everything you do should be a piece to the puzzle that you want to complete 10,20,50 years down the road...

That being said, I think house-hacking is the best strategy for a newbie... you will gain the acquisition experience you'll need for each transaction so that you know the ins and outs of how deals get done. 

If you house-hack a multifamily property, you'll gain property management experience..

You'll gain asset and project management experience... from learning to keep track of your numbers (which you're on your way to do since thats related to your 1st question) TO managing a rehab.

3. Biggest fear was making a huge mistake and losing money (which I did anyway haha)...Best way to overcome it is to educate yourself and learning to look at fear as a good thing. If you're afraid of the next step (i.e. seeing a property, submitting an offer, evicting a tenant, etc), its probably a good thing... push passed those fears by finding a way to get things done!