Where best to invest in 2018?

38 Replies

Hi BP veterans, I’m a newbie on BP. I live in CA where I think it’s just tooooooo expensive to invest right now. I would like to know what cities you think have low prices and high rent so I can get the best return. Any insights or suggestions to websites that have this info? Thank you!!

Tina. 

I live in LA and invest out of state as well. 

I've been investing in Memphis, St. Louis, Cleveland, Akron and Birmingham for cash flow :) 

Let me know if I can help

Hi Tina,

Thanks for posting this question. I live is Phoenix and looking for multi-family. My husband is about to retire so, like you, we’re wanting good cash flow. Unfortunately we haven’t been able to find the level we want so I’ll be watching the answers too.

Birmingham is a great market. There has been a lot of development activity from out of state investors over the past few years as a result. If you are interested in multifamily or commercial property let me know. If you are only into SFR there are a lot of BP members in the area that would love to help.

Originally posted by @Tina Chen :
Hi BP veterans, I’m a newbie on BP. I live in CA where I think it’s just tooooooo expensive to invest right now. I would like to know what cities you think have low prices and high rent so I can get the best return. Any insights or suggestions to websites that have this info? Thank you!!

It’s important not to get caught in the newbie trap of thinking that, because a market is cheaper than yours, it’s a bargain.  We’re at the tail end of a very long national bull market for property that has pushed down returns everywhere.  When looking at a market outside your own, you need to compare it to its own historical returns, not the returns in your expensive area.  If not you could be in for a nasty surprise when the inevitable correction hits, and when it hits, it will hit these “bargain” markets the hardest.  They are cheaper for a reason.