Help determining repair costs and thoughts on BRRR approach

5 Replies

I am looking at some potential properties in Tacoma, WA. I am new to REI. My background is in Finance so I am good with numbers, but don't have a lot of experience evaluating how much repair work a house needs to get it to rental material.

Here is the property I am looking at:

https://www.redfin.com/WA/Tacoma/506-S-38th-St-984...

Here are my questions:

- If you were a flipper, how would you structure your analysis of the repairs needed? Are there and "models" out there to help for beginners?

- If you were looking for help in the local market, which people would you reach out to to help build an estimate? Real estate agents? find local contractors? Flippers?

Thanks,

Adam

Hey Adam,

Contractors would be able to walk through the property and give you an estimate. Keep in mind that it'll be just that, an estimate. I'd ask local investors and investor-friendly agents for contractor recommendations to make sure you get someone reputable.

I think the BRRRR is a solid strategy to grow your portfolio and build wealth over time.

Lastly, J. Scott wrote The Book on Estimating Rehab Costs check it out in the BP bookstore... Very detailed and insightful!

Best of luck to you!

-Abel

Here’s a finished flip property a few blocks away from the one you’re looking at:  https://www.redfin.com/WA/Tacoma/227-S-38th-St-98418/home/2962336

You could probably rent as-is, but would likely get lower rents and tenants. 

I think the property you're looking at is priced too close to ARV. Any mistake or issues with the city or utilities and you can blow through the spread in a day.

if that 289 house is retail... and it is flipped to a retail buyer level vs a rental....

then yours is overpriced for BRRR.