To hire a realtor or to not hire a realtor, that is the question.

12 Replies

Hey all! My fiancée and I had bought a 1 owner, 1960's ranch fixer-upper to live in while renovating (with our 2 kids) 3 years ago. We have completely gutted the house besides the bedrooms and trying to finish up so that we can put it on the market in 2-3 weeks. We have 2 prospective realtors we know to choose from, but we also have pondered the idea of selling ourselves... with this being our first flip and not knowing too much about selling, should we stick with a realtor or should we go on a whim and try to sell the house ourselves.... ANY input would be appreciated! 

Hi @Thibe L. ,

As a Realtor myself, I may seem biased, but I'd use an agent if I were trying to sell my first property and didn't have intimate market knowledge or marketing expertise. The money that people try to save by not using a Realtor typically results in longer days on market and a lower selling price. Of course this doesn't happen every single time as every market and submarket can vary.

If you already have 2 Realtors lined up, you can give them a shot and take notes about how they market your property and ask lots of questions so you can gain the knowledge to list the next one yourself. 

@Thibe L.

I would suggest going with an experienced realtor in your area, and attempting to build a relationship with them. You may be able to sell it yourselves, but it may take more time and cost you more money. Let them know exactly what you guys are looking to get, and a timeline for how quick you'd like to move the property. They may be even able to help you find more investment properties that you and your fiancee can rehab in the future.

Best of luck!

@Thibe L.

I agree with everyone's suggestion to go with an agent in your area.