Make an offer or let it go?

44 Replies

Hi everyone,

Newbie to Wholesaling RE and I could use an experts advise. Hopefully this is seen by someone in the Belleville, Illinois area. This my first potential deal, with very motivated sellers. They bought a house hoping to become landlords but just do not have the time. They are pretty much willing to take any offer I give them, as long as they don't have to come out of pocket. However, I want to do right by them as well as myself. I am new to calculating ARV as well. Right now it appears that the house as is on the market is at about 58K in Market value. I can't seem to determine how much it could sell for if it was all fixed up correctly. They also owe around 50K on this property. Does anyone have any specific advise or ideas? In terms of if I should let this deal go. If I should pursue it, how can I accurately determine the price it can sell for once it's fixed up. That way I will know how much one of my potential buyers will purchase for a house in that area?

Just in case this info helps: it's a 3 bedroom, 1 bath, 1088 sq ft, 50K still owed

Thanks in advance for your help!

Jessica Brown

@Jessica Brown

I would recommend going to Redfin and typing in the address. Scroll down to near the bottom of the page and take a look at the "Nearby Sold Homes" and look at similar homes as close to the subject property as possible. This should give you a good idea of what the homes in the area are selling for, and what finishes are being used to capture that price. Hope this helps!

To add to my above recommendation, make sure to pay close attention to the sold date as well and try to stay within 3 months of the date the comparable closed. 

This post has been removed.

Since this place is the better part of an hour away that's strike one in my book.

You don't know, or know how to calculate, the ARV. Strike two.

You (for some strange reason) want to "do right" by them. You don't have "investor" in you. Strike three.