Is it possible to invest out of state? I need some advice.

24 Replies

Hello All,

First of all, thank you for such wealth of information in this place. I wanted to know if any of you have invested in properties outside of your state? I am from NY and investing in properties here is very expensive. I currently have 1 single family house rented, but my ROI is low for such property ($250K House - $250/cash after paying P&I/taxes) so I am looking for your advice. I currently have 100K in the bank doing absolutely nothing and I want to get the best bang for my buck in terms of properties/investment.

I figured that if I am able to invest 100K outside my state, I would be able to buy several properties and put them to work for me compared to just buying one here in NY.  I am still new to this and learning as I go, but I have decided that this is what I want to do and would like to dedicate myself to this to be able to provide a better future for my family.

Thank you and looking forward to your answers!

Gabriel

@Gabriel Rodriguez before looking out of state there may be some markets in NY that are affordable to buy multiple houses or multi-family that are inexpensive. I’ve heard Rochester and Buffalo are ideal areas to buy houses that cash flow well. I’ve always went with the notion to look in your back yard before looking too far away, there’s always deals if you look hard enough.

Thank you @Ken Nyczaj I can definitely look at those areas. My question was based on the fact that certain places are starting to warm up such as the Midwest as well reading about some people in those areas being very successful. One thing I don't like about doing this in NY is that most NY laws are more tenant-friendly than landlord-friendly and that is a concern for me since I personally saw my grandmother trying to evict someone from her apartment and that process taking well over 2 years and thousands of dollars in legal expenses.