Evansville, In- looking to buy first rental

5 Replies

Hello, I'm looking to invest in my first property within the year in Evansville, In. I attended school there and know the area fairly well. Have been researching areas and I think I'm going with Evansville. I am interested in talking with anyone you may know who got the ball rolling. I am a licensed agent in California and also work for a property management company, but still a newbie. All advice is welcome. Right now I have about 5k to put down and am saving about 1k or a little more each month. I would love to buy 2-4 units.  Will possibly be able to move in and that would help my financing options, but currently located in San Diego. so might have to bite the bullet and do 20%. Where to start first?

Hello Tinley!  One of the answers you are looking for an answer for a question that will get several responses.   The first piece of information I would give you is to figure out how to make more money and how you can save more money so you can in a place worth over about $110,000 because that is about the most you can spend on a "house hacking" loan right now with which is what you want. 

When you figure out how to earn more money and save money and only buy anything else unless you buy  with debt that is something  that is making money and is almost returning almost the same as a home  as will make as much as a $110,000 home in or around San Diego that has several units or whatever makes you happy.

The more units you can buy, the better it will be for you. There are several options at your level. One is to find a good that does not need much work to get conventional lending which may be the only way to get a "house hacking" loan. Another option is to find a "cash rich" Partner so you can use his cash to qualify for a conventional FHA insured loan. You will get his help to qualify for a FHA loan and the repair/rehab work the home may need.