Purchasing Out of State

32 Replies

Hello BiggerPockets! I’m new here, and to Real Estate Investing! I’ve spent the last year (roughly) learning from reading BP forums, and from relationships I’ve made with local REIs. I have a question for the whole forum: Would you purchase property out of state? I am very fortunate to live where I live. The downside, extremely high property values (many overvalued), and drastically high taxes. I have considered purchasing property in other states, including North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Connecticut , etc. I have reached out to several management companies who deal in some (or all) of those states. I don’t think there is necessarily a right or wrong answer to this question, just a personal preference. What do you all think?

I have some experience with out of state investors. I worked mainly as the "boots-on-the-ground" for a variety of them during my time in Cleveland. From my point of view it can be very rewarding and lucrative as long as you have the systems to back it up. Overall, investing out of state needs a lot more up front planning and networking than investing in your own community. You need to know rehab teams, brokers, other investors, PM, etc. I suggest finding a young, hungry agent like myself in your desired location! PM me if you want to talk more about this! Best of luck,

I invest out of state in South Carolina and love it. It's a lot of time on the phone, rewarding and helpful with diversifying across geography. I have great relationships down there.

That being said, I'm glad I waited until I had some local experience before jumping in long-distance. Happy to chat if you'd like. 

@Alexander Coventry

Live where you want invest where the numbers made sense. I invested in Indianapolis Birmingham and Atlanta when I lived in seattle.

Primary markets just has too much unsophisticated money chasing local deals.