Rental properties in college towns (Clemson, SC)

4 Replies

Looking to buy a 4/2 condo in Clemson, SC near campus. Has current tenants through August 2019, with solid cash flow and 10% cash on cash return. This would be my first investment property, what are some things to be aware of with renting in college towns and to students? Are college towns better protected against market downturns as the economy is correlated closely to the school?

Hi Adrian! I am a real estate agent for Tiger Properties here in Clemson. I have managed a student community of almost 250 students since January of 2012 and been in sales since May of 2015. Students tend to ware on properties a lot more than you would see from other renters. There is a high turnover because they constantly moving to live near friends they met the previous semester or are graduating. Evictions tend to be very low though because you normally have to require a guarantor for the lease, and parental guarantors do not want to deal with evictions from something their kid is doing. The thing that eats into most profits in the Clemson market is the high HOA dues. If for some reason your condo does not get leased for a semester then you have to pay your PITI on top of monthly dues. I would advise to account for that while considering your numbers. If a property is vacant, it normally is not a 30 day vacancy but a semester vacancy. I hope that this helps! If you are not already working with an agent then I would love to help you find the perfect property! **Disclaimer** If you are already in an agency agreement with a real estate agent then this is not a solicitation of business, everything I have said should be disregarded, and I would advise you to consult your real estate agent.

Price is usually better protected because of demand....

BUT... Turnover, turnover, turnover.  guaranteed, every 12 months.  

If you have a PM with a leasing fee.. boom.  $ gone every year.  guaranteed.