Buying off Auction.com without agent or do most use an agent?

4 Replies

I am fairly new to using Auction.com and although my last rental was bought of their it was somewhat of a fluke because I had originally submitted a cash offer the day it went to auction so my real estate agent I normally used handled the offer submital through Auction.com. Although the whole process was a royal pain in the *** I find that most of the foreclosures I am looking into tend to make it here before they hit the price point that I am looking at paying. 

The latest is a 3/1 in which I would like to make an offer on but as I never "bid" on the first one and my agent did it for me I was wondering if this is required or I guess more so advised. Based on what I read it seems not and I guess I could just register. If I am to do it myself what should I be watching out for that would be typically handled by the buying agent?

The main thing I noted was getting title insurance which for the one I am looking at is paid for by the "Seller" which was the same as my prior purchase.

Jared

You son’t want to accept the “free” title insurance......an agent experienced with reo’s can tell you why......along with a host of other things you haven’t considered.

Originally posted by @Wayne Brooks :

You son’t want to accept the “free” title insurance......an agent experienced with reo’s can tell you why......along with a host of other things you haven’t considered.

Could you potentially expand upon this statement as through the last purchase I worked with an agent who had done 100's of REO deals and he advised that there was no need to pay for an additional title insurance in that the seller paid option was sufficient. Obviously I would be apt to miss out whatever it is you are infering is the problem but would like to have at least a basis to ask an informed question to him on.