Turnkey or Syndication Deals

11 Replies

I am a newbie in the Real Estate arena and today I am wondering what the next move should be after acquiring some turnkey rental properties in Dallas 2 years ago. TK real deals are difficult to find (not looking for flipping) so I am evaluating if instead, I should allocate the capital into syndication deals. What would you do in the Texas (Houston/Dallas) market? Thoughts are welcome.

@Omar Gonzalez

Welcome to BP! Fist and foremost, I'd determine what your long term goals are and what type of investing you'd want to concentrate on first. 

It sounds like you already determined that you prefer to be a passive investors and hence looking into TK and syndications. The next steps are to weigh in pro's and con's of each and the ROI in a long term including the tax benefits. And then see which one makes the most sense for you.

As @Alina Trigub said, it depends on your goals. If your goal is to ultimately run a full-time active real estate business, then you probably want to continue to acquire deals on your own. But if you are trying to supplement your full-time income with passive income, then syndications might be a great avenue.

Porque no los dos? aka why see it as an either/or? If you do start investing in syndications there's nothing that says you can't keep buying turnkeys when you do find good deals. You might decide you like one more than the other down the road and focus on that. Or, you might decide you like the diversification and you prefer investing in both.

@Alina Trigub , @Theo Hicks , always good to hear your wise advise. @Taylor L. Tambien me gustan las dos opciones, however my limitation will be the available capital to invest. I am still depending on my day job (for now) and getting good deals with TK SFH is getting tougher, so I am exploring other options and syndication seems attractive.