User Stats

Votes
Derek R Clark
Votes |
Rental - failure to disclose mold

Derek R Clark
Posted Dec 29 2019, 00:51

Hello Everyone,

I am new to the Forums and real estate. It's my first time posting here and it's a long one.

I wanted to give everyone here a shout out, most notably Brandon Turner and David Greene for solidifying some ideas I had from 2012 about real estate investing.

A little background on myself; I landed a Pharmacy job fresh out of college to obtain w-2 income. The income has allowed me to purchase my first rental property with a business partner. I live in the Denver metro area and noted that appreciation would be the only tactic anywhere near me. So, I ran some numbers and noticed about a 100 mile away there was an ideal drivable candidate for cashflow. After viewing several properties and terminating one, me and my partner settled on a duplex being sold as a single-family home. The real estate agent mentioned redundantly that it was a single-family home only, which I disregarded because of its clear layout as a duplex, possible triplex. I didn't know why the real estate agent was so dogged about it being a single-family home until later. The number of doors on the front of the house and the layout were key indicators of it being used as a multi-family home in the past, along with two mailboxes.

Now time to sink our teeth into the various problems! Yikes, hold on to your hats, because the fun guys are among us.