House Hacking For Students

2 Replies

Hey Everyone,

I am Abbas, a grad student from New York. I have been following BP on YouTube for about a month now and love the videos and simple explanation.

Being a student, my major most monthly expense is my rent (obviously!). House hacking is particularly fascinating to me, however, I have a question before I dive into it:

Q) I will be graduating around the year 2022. I am not sure if I will be staying in the city after that based on the university/company I get into after my graduation. With that said, if I start house hacking with a mortgage to pay, the mortgage payments would last for at least 5 - 8 years or more. In that case, I am not sure if I would be in the same city or not until I pay everything. Is it advisable to go for house hacking in this situation. If yes, please suggest the ways out.

Thanks,

Abbas

Originally posted by @Abbas Kabir :

Hey Everyone,

I am Abbas, a grad student from New York. I have been following BP on YouTube for about a month now and love the videos and simple explanation.

Being a student, my major most monthly expense is my rent (obviously!). House hacking is particularly fascinating to me, however, I have a question before I dive into it:

Q) I will be graduating around the year 2022. I am not sure if I will be staying in the city after that based on the university/company I get into after my graduation. With that said, if I start house hacking with a mortgage to pay, the mortgage payments would last for at least 5 - 8 years or more. In that case, I am not sure if I would be in the same city or not until I pay everything. Is it advisable to go for house hacking in this situation. If yes, please suggest the ways out.

Thanks,

Abbas

Hello Abbas and welcome to the BP forums!