Cash vs LOC acquisition strategies

4 Replies

I am fairly new to Real Estate investing. When our daughter started college instead of renting, we found a good deal on a condo and decided to purchase it. We rented out the second bedroom and it worked perfectly while she was in college. Once the condo was paid off we took out a line of credit secured by the condo. We used this line of credit to buy several single family homes in need of help. We also used the LOC for the rehab, and then finished the BRRRR strategy.

Because of HOA fees, we are going to sell the condo. My initial thought was that we would use a 1031 exchange and buy a like property. I had a thought however, about instead of putting the cash into another property.... using it as a seed money. This way we could pay cash for the purchase and rehab, then finance. My thought is that this will give us an advantage with REOs and making deals happen quickly. This could also serve as an additional safety margin if ever needed. I realize there are obvious tax implications. Thoughts?

@Joe Surber How much is your sale proceeds going to be? If it is a small amount, the implications will be little. I would 1031 into another multifamily property and grow your wealth. You could then use the rental income as seed money.

@Joe Surber , Congrats on getting one through college. 

The process you describe actually can be done still using the tax deferral. It's a process called a reverse exchange. And in your case a reverse improvement exchange. The statutory order of a 1031 exchange is that you cannot take title to the new property until you close the sale of your old property. And you cannot 1031 into improvements on property you already own.