Do I have ownership interest if I have a house under contract?

5 Replies

We have a couple properties under contract & the other day someone asked if I was the owner, I said "no but that we have equitable interest in the contract that we're selling for a fee. Otherwise we are going to close on it ourselves" If it's under contract, I'm not the owner right? I'm guessing that I only become owner upon closing even though I technically have control of the property while under contract?

nope you have no equitable interest or owner ship interest.  contrary than what the wholesale gurus want you to believe.

Actually, you have a beneficial interest as opposed to an equitable interest. It is still an interest and does have value. It isn't an ownership interest per se, however it could be or will be once you complete the requisite steps.

I'm just a recovering professional surveyor turned investor/developer who always was trying to learn as much as I could. Attorneys, please feel free to jump in and correct me as necessary. 

@Allison Meggison   If you're intending to wholesale (i.e., not closing and only then reselling), that is a license-required activity in the state of Maine.  Penalties are $2,000 per incident plus the forfeiture of all profits on the deal.

You become the owner when, and only when your name is on the title - as Jay stated, no matter what the guru courses tell you.

For the record, I have personally contacted the State Real Estate Commission and verified this.

The best course of action is to close on it and then do as you wish with your own property.