Who else has given up on wholesalers?

8 Replies

I've been buying houses for 3-4 years now. I mostly just buy stuff on mls, or from neighbors of properties i own who are moving. Everytime ive got on a mailing list of wholesaler, i just get junk. Its either in a small town, or no meat left on the bones (they probably wont get an offer on mls). I buy in durham, nc, and the area has appreciated a lot. 

Are the good wholesalers just selling directly high volume flippers? Or does a wholesaling business really only function in an area like the midwest where people are more willing to give away their houses? 

I mostly just wonder if the only people who actually buy from wholesalers are newbies that dont understand their numbers. 

@Sean H. I run a large wholesale operation in the Midwest and I also buy from other wholesalers from time to time.

I'm on the buyer list of probably +300 wholesalers in our markets and I have a VA filtering them out (too time consuming), 95% are junk we filter out in 2 minutes, on the residual 5% we squeeze 1 to 2 deals per months.

The stats were better pre-covid but nowadays everybody ask over retail, it’ll eventually get better once the market cool down.

Just a little perspective....

When wholesaling was my main gig, I had exactly 3 buyers on my buyers list who would buy 98% of anything I got under contract before the ink was dry.

I needed more buyers like I needed a hole in the head. I sent no email "blasts", I did not give them any numbers other than what I needed to get. I turned down dozens of people over time that wanted to be on my list.

Rather than giving up on wholesalers, I'd recommend finding...or making...a good one of your own. 

Want to move to the top of the list? Meet in person, talk, PROVE YOU CAN CLOSE, won't waste time or tire kick. The good ones go fast.