Votes |
First Direct Mail Marketing Done

Kevin Taylor
Pro Member
  • Rental Property Investor
  • Derwood, MD
Posted Jul 31 2021, 20:15

Good evening BP Community! 

I just wanted to share that I just completed my first first step towards doing a direct mail marketing campaign for the Cincinnati market. I'm am brand new to direct mail marketing so I don't know if what I did will get me any leads but I figured it's better to try and fail than to never try at all. I also wanted to share how I did it to hopefully help any newbies like myself get started doing a direct mail campaign of their own.  

I found my list using Propstream (https://www.propstream.com/) and used their tools to filter the list down to what I am interested in investing in. It took me awhile to figure out how to use all the filters and I'm sure I will continue to make adjustments to my list in the future, because like I said before; I'm a newbie to this. I filtered the list down from over 14,000 properties to around 183 properties. I filtered out the property types, occupancy status and years owned/equity in the property. I then crossed referenced the zip codes with the Trulia crime map to make sure that those properties I was hoping to buy in wasn't in a war zone.   

I then took that list of 183 properties and exported to an excel document and uploaded it to the application Ballpoint Marketing (https://ballpointmarketing.com). This application is cool because the mail that it creates looks like hand written letters, making it look less like an advertisement. It cost me around $273 for the 183 letters but it was worth it. I figured if I was going to handwrite 183 letters it would at least take me at least 5 mins to write and address and stamp the letters. 183 letters x 5 mins = 915 minutes. 915 mins / 60 mins = 15 hours. I was able to save around 15 hours of my time and direct it towards finding and analyzing more deals.