Offer missed by seller's agent!

11 Replies

Hi All,

I made an offer through my agent and I lost to another bidder. It turns out the seller's agent didn't see the full offer and so missed the fact that it was multiple deals I was bidding on. The incorrect price may have been fed to the seller but definitely not the full offer I made.

I've lost the deal. Anything I can do at this stage?

Thanks

Updated about 1 month ago

*Deleted*

Originally posted by @Ben Ezequiel :

Hi All,

I made an offer through my agent and I lost to another bidder. It turns out the seller's agent didn't see the full offer and so missed the fact that it was multiple deals I was bidding on. The incorrect price may have been fed to the seller but definitely not the full offer I made.

I've lost the deal. Anything I can do at this stage?

Thanks

If its a one off event, maybe give him the benefit of the doubt. But if this is a regular occurrence or if you don't like him, find a new agent. I am a real estate agent in Ohio and the biggest thing is being responsive, active, accurate, and fast. If I'm not, my clients will choose another agent. Just the name of the game.

@Ben Ezequiel

You can see about going into first backup position. If the person ahead of you backs out, you go into contract automatically.  Talk to your agent to see if that’s possible. 

Most of the time this just gives the seller more leverage in his current contract negotiations but it could lead to you getting the deal in the end. 

Promotion
Ashcroft Capital
A national multifamily investment firm
Three Reasons Investors May Prefer Real Estate
Read three reasons why investing in real estate private placements may provide several advantages.
Read More Here

Is there any legal recourse to make sure they review my offer since it arrived in time (although they already signed with the lower offer)? Don't they have to present all offers to the owner?

Property is in Chicago, in case that helps.