30-year term on commercial loan?

28 Replies

Hey everyone, I'm new here and looking forward to connecting about real estate investing. My partner and I are in the process of buying a 12-unit multi-family building in the West Chicagoland area for $700,000.

The financials are solid, fully-occupied, all paying, room for rent increases, easy to rent units close to Chicago CTA line. Gross rents at $8,600, net at $5,600+.

I'm looking through my financing options, and trying to get the best combination of long amortization schedule, low rate, and low down payment (want to maximize cash flow early on). We'd specifically like a 30-year amort, and 80% LTV.

I know these are harder to come by for commercial multi-family, but do any of you know if there are 30 year terms on this kind of loan?

Thanks in advance.

@Romulus Olariu

I am not an expert but 30yr amort is hard to get on commercial.

Best I have gotten quoted on similar deals is 5 or 10 year term with 25yr amort with min 20% down. Rates in the middle to high 4"s

Not saying it cant be done...I just haven't found a lender to do better on Commercial.  Share with us if you can find the 30yr lender on MF's

Best of luck.

Try to get an FHA loan. You can get a 35 year am.

Not high enough loan amount for FHA. Some lenders will offer 25-30 year am with 5, 10, 15, or 20 year terms. I am a banker/broker in the midwest. Contact me if you would like my help

Back in '97, I was lucky to get 30yr ARM. Today, it's much more like @Greg Adlington is relating.  I've found that a local commercial bank will deal better with you than any national bank.

Try some local credit unions.  A credit union local to Southern California here will do 30 year amortization on small multi-families.  

Greg can I get your contact info I am in Dubuque Iowa?

We need to be clear. Amortization schedules and the length of the loan term is different. I see talks of amortization  and loan term being mixed in.