First Commercial Deal - Small Office Building, worth pursing?

4 Replies

I currently own 10 properties on the residential side and have an opportunity to acquire a small 3-unit office building that is fully leased.  This would be a contract for deed with a family member that owns the building free and clear.  Not sure yet on what the terms would be, but the purchase price would be around $300k and gross rents are $3,300/mo.  Taxes are somewhat high at $11k annually but it's still a decent return if I can put 10-15% down.

Since I'm new to the commercial side, is there anything I should look out for here?  Figure this might be a great way to diversify the portfolio, but want to do my due diligence since I'm new to the commercial side.

Thanks in advance!

the lease structures ( Gross or NNN); term remaining and options. Offices do not rent out or turnover as quickly and often as residential. The carrying costs of a vacancy could be lengthy, more people work remote or office parks / near mid urban. Twin Cities still a strong market. Got family in Coon Rapids. Everybody has to live somewhere. I say stay with what you know and keep it growing. Good Luck.

Promotion
Turo
Turo car sharing
Start a small business on Turo
Join thousands of entrepreneurs who have started successful car sharing businesses on Turo.
Learn more

Thanks for the replies.  One tenant is 30+ years and will be at least another 5 years.  The other is 10+ years and will be staying as well.  The third is a newer tenant that has renovated their space so they'll be sticking around as well.  I like the fact that there's less turnover than residential and more vacancy protection being a "multi-unit" property.  Seller financing is a plus too.  Only downside is the high taxes and the property needs a new roof which I will try to negotiate into the sale price.  Thanks again.