Is it possible to refi after a interesr only loan?

8 Replies

Hey everyone, I’m a beginner investor but I believe in the go big or go home methodology to life. I have a 400+unit apartment building I have been contemplating about purchasing with a hard money loan. With purchase price at 25M. NOI at 1.8M. Was wondering if 1. I can have a 10M hard money loan interest only at 9% (900K per year) leaving me with 900K annually. For 3 years with a balloon payment. 2. Can I write a 15M note for 3 years and refi the 25M in 3 years to an amortizing loan with a bank. 3. How long do banks usually do multi family amortizing loans. Any feedback would be great! I do not want to flip the property. I just want to buy and hold! Thank you!

Why do you want a hard money loan???!

At that price, you could get a non-recourse commercial loan with an agreeable interest rate.  Many lenders will offer favorable terms as long as the property has a 1.25% debt coverage ratio.

@Malik Banks do you have substantial net worth or liquidity? (Millions of dollars) because to buy this apartment building (with no track record) will require at least 5 million downpayment. Usually this is the type of deal that is probably syndicated. To buy this with just yourself would require a lot of money for downpayment and some lenders will require your net worth be greater than the loan amount.

I’m not sure if what you described with hard money would be possible but traditionally they want you to put some money down which in this case would be 10-15 percent which would still be millions of dollars.

Where would you get the 15M note from? Most hard money lenders won’t want multiple mortgages and im unsure if you can get hard money for 3 years. Traditionally it’s a year or two at most.

@Malik Banks I appreciate your enthusiasm to "go big" but, in this case, going big requires millions of dollars and years of experience to do what you are trying to do. Start small, get some experience, and then think big.