Self Storage

37 Replies

I've heard that investing in Self-Storage is a great idea. I agree! It seems like a great business. I was wondering if anyone has had any experience in this area?

I have no experience in this but know several people that do it, and they do very well.

It's like any other real estate investment, you just need to look at it on a deal-by-deal basis.

Look at past operating numbers for the facility, or find out what you can about other self-storage facilities in the area. (or better yet, both)

If it looks like your probable income will cover all expenses and debt service, you probably have a winner. There's more to look at than just the cash flow, but it is a good place to start. If you know there will be a major negative cash flow, you'd better have a really good reason for getting into the property.

There's money in any kind of rental real estate, though.

It seems to me that if you were not going to run it, you would have to pay someone a wage instead of a percentage of rent. Is that accurate or does it work just like other property management?

I've never done storage units myself, but I don't see why it would be different than other property management.

I was saying that because I know of someone that has one that has an office and pays someone to be there running the place. Now that I thinki of it, that may not be necessary, just a perference they have. Does anyone have experience with this?

I think someone being in an office onsite is key for these types of places. Doesn't have to be 7 days a week or even 8 hrs a day but some sort of set schedule so new people can sign up for units. I guess the alternative is a phone number they can call and you can meet them down there with contracts and keys but I would imagine people would just go down the street to the next guy where they can get immediate service.

Can storage facilities be built? What is the average price of a storage unit? How big are the units?

Thank you