Loopnet Changes coming in Feb

21 Replies

I am curious what others are doing with this service.  Starting in Feb, the search feature is going away and they are forcing people on to CoStar.  I am a broker, but seriously considering just dropping it all together. ...sure, I will continue to provide them my listings, but why pay for services from CoStar you can obtain for much lower costs elsewhere?  Besides, I have never liked the attitude of CoStar, and now that is a monopoly, it really hurts to  feed the beast and pay their extortion money.  What are others doing?  Switching over to CoStar or bagging it all together? 

CoStar's dismantling of Loopnet in order to consolidate their position in the Commercial Real Estate market is a disservice to open markets. 

I am an investor.  I review Loopnet about three times a week to get a feel for the market.  I have purchased buildings that I first found on Loopnet.  But usually I "find" deals through Brokers who have non-listed buildings.  Still, Loopnet has been a valuable resource to me.

In my opinion, CoStar is not investor friendly because you have to pay a fee to access the site.  My second-hand understanding is that they charge $200-$500 per month to access their site.  That fee is not justified for someone like myself buying one building a year.  The net effect of the loss of Loopnet is that investors will be less informed about potential real estate offerings and it will be harder to get buyers and sellers to meet. 

I will be looking for the next company to come along and fill the void created by CoStar's short-term attempt to monopolize the market. 

@Eric Odum

I honestly don't understand the logic behind this move. It could result in slower sales on commercial properties. It could also create a backlash that causes people to abandon them altogether and look for lower cost alternatives.

Imagine all commercial real estate being sold on Craigslist.

402-965-1853