Looking at purchasing 160 Storage Units.

15 Replies

I am looking at a 160 unit storage unit complex. What should be the cap rate be? I figured 10% What are the occupancy rates should I figure? I used 85% but not sure how much turn over there is in storage units. I currently own apartments and I am a little scared of chasing 160 Rents that range from $70 to $200 a month. Any advice or thoughts would be appreciated. I do believe these units to be in a great location. Not behind a current business or in the middle of nowhere like most.

I am not an expert on this by any means.. there is a fellow in Indy his name escapes me  I think its Ken Myer or something like that.. who is big in this business and he might even have a educational arm to his business.. its probably worth the money to pay to have up front training before you step into this big of investment.

I personally see this as buying a on going business not really the rental business.

my experience with my unit .. is it was only 44 units.. but really nice ones it was not big enough for on site management.. so if I did this again It would have to be big enough to have on site management to show the units and keep people from sleeping in them and hauling all sorts of garbage into them like a hoarder.

Don't do as I say.. but when people didn't pay and went dark .. I just waited a month or so then hauled their stuff to the dump.. 99% of it was discarded junk at least in my units.. I know its not legal.. but I self insure myself in that regard.

some say its recession proof and some say not.. my banker says not.. he says when economy gets tough they just won't spend 200 bucks a month to store their stuff they either up and leave it or move it somewhere else.. so that's two opinions.