Commercial Lending Loopholes?

8 Replies

Hello, I am a WI realtor focusing in on helping multiple clients acquire commercial investment properties outside of just residential investment - (Office Spaces, Motels, Operating Businesses, Etc.)

However, my buyers and myself have been running into a consistent issue - banks requiring 25/30/40 percent down payments on the commercial real estate. This requirement is simply not achievable for some of my newer investment clientele, which is a tough cookie to swallow when a lot of these folks have big dreams and aspirations, and an ability to finance these at a slightly lower rate.

Some people in my network have no issue with this, but for those that want to invest commercial but can’t make the down payments, I am asking the BP community to share any insights on commercial loan loop holes, decreasing down payments, maybe even ‘loaning’ down payments, whatever is feasible.

I know it seems far fetched, but I will always see if there is any possible way to make something happen for my clients no matter the request. Thanks.

@Devante Scholfield

As a private lender, past commercial lender, realtor and CRE investor I have seen it from all sides. Would you lend to your own clients on these deals they are looking at for less? Because I have actually done it and can tell you that its easy to say what others should do woth their money. Buying an amazing deal and having the ability to reposition it are both important so my recommendation is you tell those clients that need low money down loans to get a partner that does not need low money down loans. Better to get half of a deal than none of one at all. I can only imagine how this market could inflate if people could get 10% down deals with little experience.

Here's a question, what is 'a slightly lower rate'? Are these buyers at say 25% down and just can't quite get to 30%? Or are they at 10% and can't get to 25%?