non-bank owned homes in auction

15 Replies

Hi,

I am fairly new to all this. I was looking at properties on auction.com and noticed that there were homes that were non-bank owned. So I am assuming these properties are not in distress (foreclosure, REO, short sale), so what would be the motivation of selling a property in the web site (or what would be a buyer's motivation to buy such a property instead of just buying a non-auction property which can be inspected)?

Thanks,

Javier

Though the bank has to approve or disapprove of any offers, a short-sale is not bank-owned(yet). HUD and other government agencies auction properties as well. BTW, welcome to BP.

Kudos,

Mary

Thanks for your response and for the welcome.

@Javier S. welcome to BP.  Those properties or the seller may be in distress and an auction is often a fast easy way to sell. Many properties trade from investor to investor via auction.  I probably auction about half of the properties I sell.

I recently did a Google search on Auction.com/Complaints, and found over 25.  I also tried to Bid on a property which they asked for my Credit Card to charge $2,500 for the opportunity to make a Bid.  I was surprised  to see such a company on Bigger Pockets.

Has any BPer had a positive experience with the online auction?

auction.com has has two types of Non REO properties; auction.com serves as the foreclosure trustee in some locations that have non judicial foreclosures. Also, some banks will run a portion of proposed short sales thru auction.com looking to "verify" the price. A high bidder on these simply goes into contract on a short sale.

Thanks for the replies. I did contact the agent for a listing and was told that it was a for sale by owner that wanted to concentrate on fewer bigger properties.  That kind of fits in with what @Ned Carey mentioned.  So it is more like an easier way to sell in this case.  
Originally posted by @Alex Hamilton :