Tutorial for buying at foreclosure auctions

29 Replies

I invest in foreclosures in the Monterey Bay region. I have been doing this for 2 years and have had 7 profitable deals.
This is a short tutorial of the process. By the end of this post you'll have a rough idea of how foreclosure investing works and
how to go about it.

I write a blog about investing in foreclosures, at [REMOVED]. I analyze 3 deals a day in the San Francisco Bay region, where I work
(And away from where I buy). In the interest of marketing my blog, here is a tutorial in buying foreclosures, gleaned from real experience.
Feel free to ask me questions!

How do Foreclosures Work?
-If you take out a mortgage on a home and falls behind on the payments, the bank can start the foreclosure process on the home. This is
when the owner can try to short sell the home: sell it for less than he owes the bank. At the end of the process, before taking back the house,
the house must be auctioned off at the courthouse steps. This is the foreclosure auction. If the bank sets the price too high and no one buys,
then the bank takes it back, and it becomes a REO, a real estate owned. The sequence is short sale, foreclosure auction, REO.

Why Foreclosures?
-Because you can make 50-60% returns per year, at 2 deals per year and 25% returns on each deal.
At the auction, homes routinely go for 75% of market price or below. This is because of all the obstacles between the buyer and the house:
The entire amount is due in cash. This eliminates 99% of buyers right away. You cannot get a mortgage because it's a foreclosure.
The auction is held on weekdays during working hours.
The property is sold as is, where is. The loan being sold may be a worthless second loan. There may be back taxes.

-The climate is right. There is a wave of foreclosures from the housing crisis. Efforts by the government to prevent foreclosures have failed.
see http://www.nytimes.com/2010/01/02/business/economy/02modify.html

Prerequisites: