Votes
Liam Hanson
  • Chicago, IL
Votes |
How to find the numbers for a Pre-foreclosure

Liam Hanson
  • Chicago, IL
Posted Jan 18 2018, 15:07

I am looking at a house in preforeclosure scheduled for auction in a couple weeks. I have access to some info, but not everything I need to know. It is listed on Auction.com and they provide a "title information" document showing there are 3 liens as follows:

07/24/2003 1st / Trust Deed/Mortgage $268,700 Cendant Mortgage Corp Conventional Fix /

12/02/2005 2nd / Trust Deed/Mortgage $35,000 Bank of America Conventional Var /

01/17/2006 3rd / Trust Deed/Mortgage $75,000 Bank of America Conventional Var /

on the property but it does not say how much they have been paid off. I also have access to data through an online software I have a subscription to, which says the following:

Original Loan Amount

$268,700.00

Loan Balance

$268,700.00

Judgement Amount

$47,487.00

Estimated Value

$258,000.00

Equity

$210,513.00

Where do you find out if a preforeclosure has equity and what the loan/mortgage balance is? I know the software I use says there is $210,513 in equity but I would like to know where to VERIFY this information since it porbably isn't 100% accurate. It also says that the loan balance is $268,700, even though the judgement amount is $47,487. Does that mean I can't do anything with this property since the loan balance is higher than the equity/value? What exactly is the difference between the loan balance and the judgement amount?

Also, there is a lot of information out there and as a newbie it is difficult to put all the pieces together, so I would just like to recap my approach from start to finish in case anyone notices a flaw or has any pointers. I'm sure this will help lots of fellow newbies that are lost, wondering the same things.