Newbie to Foreclosure

16 Replies

Hi all my name is Toan Nguyen one of my friend McNew introducted me to this Biggerpockets. And I am new to buying Foreclosure houses and recently won a bid on the house in PA Allentown. Looking for some guidance and which lenders to help Renovation Fund for the house. Need some recommendations on which lenders to use (looking around 9% interest or below). I'm currently using the BRRR method. Already owe 4 units but neither are auctions house. Any guidances would help :) Thank you

Hello Tony!  Where do I start?  First of all I would never buy acoproperty that’s out of driving distance over an hour unless it was a Turnkey product and that company also manages.  Was that the first auction you went to?  You need to go at least once just to watch and not bid. 

Probably a local bank his your only will get that kind of loan fruit a bank who gets more into your ability to pay and put 20% down but usually a longer term.  There’s probably something terrible about it’s condition and why you got it.  Did you look at it first and know what year it was built?  Was your win involve an”educated” guess or was it physical knowledge you had?

Good luck to you!

Originally posted by @Tony Lee :

Hi all my name is Toan Nguyen one of my friend McNew introducted me to this Biggerpockets. And I am new to buying Foreclosure houses and recently won a bid on the house in PA Allentown. Looking for some guidance and which lenders to help Renovation Fund for the house. Need some recommendations on which lenders to use (looking around 9% interest or below). I'm currently using the BRRR method. Already owe 4 units but neither are auctions house. Any guidances would help :) Thank you

Not to be a buzz kill but you really need to be able to fund foreclosures in cash. Very difficult to get tradition loans on properties that are so beat up that they'll work for the BRRRR method. You can always try a HML but as a newbie that's also going to be an uphill battle.