Purchase with or without tenants?

5 Replies

I'm new to REI and have started looking into my options for a multi family home to rent out. What are people's thoughts on purchasing real estate that is already occupied by tenants? I can see a con being that the tenants may not be ideal. I could see a pro being that I wouldn't have to start marketing right after purchase.

What about rehab/increasing value if there are existing tenants? Raising rent?

For an example of one of the properties I've looked at, there are two professional tenants on the first floor, and a two bedroom on the second floor - both are month-to-month without leases.

@Stephanie Minor I think it depends... do  you have rent control or not in your farm area?  If you don't then you can build strategies around existing tenants.  I bought 8 units in a free market area.  I was able to rehab 1 unit at a time and move my tenants into the rehabbed units and increase rents as they moved into nicer apartments.  It allowed me to keep a stead flow of income while I was doing my rehab work.  In another property that I am in contract on, I specifically targeted the building because it was empty.  The city that the property is in, has rent control.  Trying to get tenants to move out so I could do renovations was not something that I really wanted to do...

Good luck!

-Arlen

@Arlen Chou thank you for the wise words regarding rent control and rehab. 

The property has potential to bring in more rent once it gets a facelift, but I'm not sure how that's possible with tenants already occupying the space. At least with the professional unit, there's the possibility of getting in some time to complete work while the office is closed I guess. Beyond that, I guess I'd really have to weigh it.

I think I have an idea of vacancy rates in the area, but not enough to make me 100% confident that I'd fill an empty property quickly. Maybe I should give myself (and the property I choose) some more credit though :)