Looking to Buy My First Apartment in Memphis

8 Replies

Hi everyone,

I have been investing in Memphis for the past 4 years now (now have 8 single family homes) and I am looking into small apartment complexes in the area.  Does anyone have some good contacts (brokers/lenders) in the area?  I am new to this area of real estate (multi family) so I need someone who is patient and willing to educate me on apartment investing.  Appreciate any help you could provide!

Thanks,

Cory Jones

Promotion
PropStream
Web + D4D Mobile App for you & the team!
Trusted Provider of Real Estate Data, Marketing, Skip Tracing & A
#1 Real Estate Software for Investors, Agents & Brokers to find leads and close deals nationwide.
7 Day Free Trial!

Be careful, I saw a lot of boarded up and sketchy looking apartment buildings\condos. I'd talk to @James Wachob. I see emails from him about them, but I'm not at that level yet. I just barely started with 3 single family homes.

Douglas/Tina - thank you for the referral.  I will reach out soon.  Tas, I totally agree with you.  The thing that's difficult in Memphis is that the line between good/bad areas is so fine.  You could have one street that is great, but a very dangerous neighborhood just a few blocks away.  This makes it tough to find the right properties because you never know if that property falls right on that line or not.  Here in Utah its totally opposite, bad areas tend to be secluded in one pocket and not mixed in throughout the city.  My view could be off but that has been my impression.