How to analyze a multi family deal with 100% financing

5 Replies

Hello all,

I’ve been investing for about 5 years in single family properties that I manage myself and decided to jump into multi families. 

My question is, is how would I calculate a deal using the cash on cash method without actually putting cash down. Say if I have a 20 unit I want to buy for $500,000 and I come in with $75,000 equity from my properties and the seller takes back $50,000. Would I use a different metric completely to analyze this type of deal? I know I need more than just one analytic to size up a property but I’m just curious. 

Another question I have is, I know, a broad one. What kind of returns (ballpark) should I expect on a financed 20 unit property after all expenses are paid annually. A property that’s well kept of course. 

If ifs commercial multifamily you’d use a cap rate

@Joshua Simon : I sometimes "cross-capitalize" some of my properties in the way that you describe (pull money from one to pay for another.)

In your specific case, I would say that you're actually bringing 75K into the deal, not 0, so you can compute your CoC return based on the 75K going in.

Also, I would still account the borrowing cost against the property your borrowed from. So if you are borrowing 75K from property A to buy property B, reduce your "invested capital" in property A by 75K, but likewise increase the debt service of property A by whatever you're paying for the 75K.

Just think of it as a cash-out-refi of property A. You could choose to go buy a car with it, or do the smart thing and re-invest it, but it's still a cash-out refi. Since you choose to re-invest it, that 75K is now your new working capital and will be the basis for any investment you make with it.

Makes sense?

Asking about expected returns about a MFR is a little like asking what's the expected return on a stock. It kinda depends. :) If you're looking at B class properties, here are some stats.