Multifamily Living in Houston

9 Replies

Hey Houston investors!! I am new to real estate investing, and I have been soaking up tons of information on the BP Podcast. I am looking to start investing in small multifamily homes here in Houston. Anybody here involved in this area can give me some advice?? Unlike other large cities, Houston doesn't seem like a place that would do well in multifamily living. Correct me if I am wrong. 

What advice are you seeking?  How did you come to the assumption that Houston small multifamily investing doesn't or will not do well?  What is your small multifamily investment strategy and investment criteria?

Houston is the 4th largest city in the nation with 2.3 million people with projected positive job growth.  Lot's of small multifamily properties around with numerous examples of people investing in it.  

Hi Micheal, I was looking to invest in Fourplexes, Triplex's or Duplexes. When I think about this living situation, I view it as more of a "college living" situation, I guess my perception is hindering me. I mostly look in the university areas for these types of properties, but I keep finding deals on the outskirts of town and I'm a little leary that I may have trouble filling these units! Yes there is so much room for growth here, I just want to make sure i'm focusing on the right market. I would love to manage a small commercial property of maybe 10-15 units to start but I don't have the capital for the 20% down payment, so I want to stay in the lane that I can afford. 

Originally posted by @Chantea Cooper :