Complete newbie here looking to learn

16 Replies

Hello everyone, As the title said, I’m completely new to investing in real estate. I’ve been reading the forum and the responses and I have to say, you guys are very knowledgeable and very helpful. Please, as a complete newbie, what can you intelligent folks recommend as far as where to begin. Books, websites or anything to help me learn and get started. I want to be able to buy a property in ONE year. I’ve been reading up on it but when I found BiggerPockets, I feel like there’s so much that I don’t know. I live in Philadelphia and would greatly appreciate any advice. Thank you in advance to everyone that’s taking the time out of their busy schedule to help me.

Hello Hai and welcome aboard.  The best place to begin is to purchase a course in how to invest in real estate, for the very reason you asked; "Where do I begin?'"  After reading all the post and articles in this great resource called Bigger Pockets I also asked myself when I started out "where do I begin?"

A real estate course will help you do more learning than searching, which will save you a tremendous amount of time.  Than I would use Bigger Pockets to confirm what you learn in a real estate course by posting and asking questions as you learn.  Use Bigger Pockets as a validation of what you are learning to make sure it is accurate and true by asking questions in the Forums like you did now.

I hope this helps you.