Purchasing first commercial properties. Guidance on financing?

10 Replies

Greetings new friends. I have been wholesaling residential real estate for 6 years I'm now ready to jump into commercial. I came across a 90 unit appartment complex for just under a million. It's a distressed seller situation, seller started renovating and had to leave country due to sick family member and abandoned theproject. I would like to find the best route to go after funding for this. It will take me $600k to finish renovations intop of the 1 million purchase price (market value is $3million as is) arv is 4.2million. I found a second 42 unit complex similar distressed seller. It's going to take $900k to purchase and $300k in improvements. Can I get a loan for both of these properties or should they be financed separately? Should I walk into my local bank and ask for a loan?

It sounds like both need to be stabilized so they will need unconventional financing.

Putting the loans together would probably complicate the deals rather than help.

What's the vacancy and NOI of both properties?

@Blake Crawford

Blake: It sounds like you found an interesting deal! You'll most likely need development financing to renovate and stabilize the building. Local banks are your best and cheapest bet, followed by private (hard) money.

Once stabilized, you can refinance the construction debt into long-term, fannie mae or freddie mac "small balance" permanent debt. There are a number of mortgage brokers who can help underwrite this type of debt, and experienced folks can facilitate introductions for you. 

As @John L. said, rolling your deals into a portfolio loan will over-complicate the process today.

Best of luck!

Hi Blake,