How to determine value on 4 plex for newbie investor

11 Replies

Hello-

I'm looking at a 4 plex with an asking price of 950K (California!) and annual rent of roughly 77K. As I read through the forums and google, I'm seeing 1% rules for cash flow and 50% rules for NOI and expenses. What's a good way at determining value of a property like this? I.E. how far off from asking does this turn to a good investment.

What I can add is that the property is in decent condition and the rent is below market value.  I’d guesstimate the market value of rent is more around 90K annually.  Utilities are passed through and I’d be managing myself, I live right up the street.  I’m a total newbie to all of this, any advice is appreciated!

@Matt Lenzi

$90,000/year = $7500/month

The 1% rule would be to purchase the home for $750000. Or $9500/month rental income.

A Morgage for $950000 with a 4% interest rate with 20% down is $3628.36

The 50% rule is = (Income x 0.5) - Principle & Interest

$7500 x 0.5 - $3628.36 = $121.64 Cash Flow

In my area, the 1% rule is a minimum and the 50% rule is conservative. But the quad I am looking at is 200k bringing in $2100. You will need to think about whether $3750 is realistic for expenses. Maybe that’s way too high. Also, you should probably consult with someone in your area.

Thanks @Nathan Hui ! Using conservative numbers, the property is at a 6% cap rate.  I should be getting the last 12 months of income and expenses soon to get a better idea of what I want to value the home at.  And yes, $3750 is pretty high for expenses in this particular case.  Once I get more info, I’m sure I’ll have more questions.. but this site has helped me tremendously! 

@Matt Lenzi like every conversation revolving around real estate investing strategies, there is a lot of nuance.

If you had money to invest in 2012, which one do you think would have made you more money?
A) A 14% cash return 8 unit in Toledo, OH