Building a real estate business while working full time.

24 Replies

I am new to the game and trying to figure out how to effectively build a multifamily real estate syndication business while working full time.

With having a full time job (50-60 hrs/wk) and a family, I'd love to hear some tactics that others use to build their business. In particular, I am struggling with how to build a business in the evenings.

I have no problem putting in the hours, but during the day I can only use about 45m of time on my lunch, if I get a lunch, otherwise it's after 8pm usually before I can work on real estate stuff.

How can someone effectively work with lenders, brokers, and other investors when limited to evenings?

@Mike Rutallie

1) You have to really think hard whether being active is feasible for you. Here's a post that should guide you in the right direction. 

https://www.biggerpockets.com/member-blogs/10850/84064-what-type-of-investor-to-be-when-i-grow-up-active-or-passiv

2) If the answer is still "I want and have the time to be Active", then partner up with someone who a) has complementary skills to yours and b) is available during the day. While (b) is not a hard requirement, it will come in handy when you need to talk to brokers, insurance agents, attorneys and etc. Alternatively, break down all the skills needed for syndications and see where you are a best fit. Then find an existing team in need of such skills set and offer to partner up. 

@Alina Trigub  

Thank you for the information. I read your article and appreciate the advice. 

My end goal, like just about everyone, is to be financially independent and quit my 9-5. With that being said, I don't think that passively investing will get me there any time soon. To do this, I would rather not be the actual landlord or property manager, but the syndicator itself. At least that is what makes sense to me now.