What to do if you don’t have enough money saved for down payment?

77 Replies

I’m just starting out and I was trying to get a preapproval letter so that I could know what price range to start looking in. I was told that I should save up $10,000 before I even consider getting a preapproval letter but that would take me years. I would love to buy my first property by May but how do I come up with that kind of money? Should I try to look for a partner that would contribute the capital or what do I do? It was discouraging to hear that so any and ALL advice would be great!!!!

How will you pay for closing costs? How will you make repairs to the property? Many issues that pop up when you purchase a home, even if its "move in ready." Don't purchase a home unless you have down payment PLUS an emergency fund.

If this is an investment property you can bring in a partner who may bring more money than you, but between you both you should have that down payment plus emergency fund. Its NEVER a good idea to buy a property if it'll leave you drained of cash.

You can find a partner and divide up the roles. For example that person can help put up the money while you handle the daily operations. 

Thanks @Andrew B and @Tony Lin . That makes a lot of sense. So should i just put my investing goals on hold until i can save up that type of money? Do some loans cover downpayment and/or repairs? Is is possible to get the money from a lender if i don't have it all saved up? Basically I guess my question is are there other ways to raise the money for the down payment and repairs if i don't have the money saved up?