Commercial loan or personal mortgage for 3 units?

11 Replies

Hello there,

Bit of a newbie here.. and I'm wondering if you could help me. 

I'm looking at purchasing 3 units that the owner is selling all together. It's not exactly a triplex, so the personal mortgage lender would have to do them as three separate loans with 20% down each. As the closing costs will be higher doing them separately, do you think it would be better to have a commercial loan that is fixed for 5 years and with 25% down or stick to the three separate ones? 

I don't have all the details at the moment, but thought I'd see if anyone with experience in this area could give me an idea of which might be the best route to take if you have e.

Thanks so much!

Promotion
Roofstock
Buy & sell single-family rentals online
Radically accessible real estate investing
Get access to exclusive property listings, proprietary data, and support to build your portfolio.
Learn More

Has your lender told you they would have to do three separate loans? If they are on one tax parcel, I'd think you should be able to do one. If you can do a conventional loan, you'll get better rates, might get better terms on the commercial side, but it's really a matter of what works best for your situation, one isn't necessarily objectively better. 

Good luck!

Hello Jennie, relatively new myself but my initial experience with each is:

1. Traditional has nice terms and long term security, much easier to finance individually if you ever think you might want to sell one of the properties for any reason because it's time consuming and expensive to separate it later.  What I didn't like was the process, from application to closing it's a constant magnifying glass on your personal finances and spending which is a challenge in NYS with closing process experiencing significant delays.