Rezoning to multiple-family homes

4 Replies

I am very new to real estate and recently purchased a 1950 home on 3/4 acre lot with the intention of remodeling. This property is located at Novi, Michigan on the side entrance (corner) of a very good sub-division. I contacted few of the builders for remodeling, most of them suggested to tear and construct a new home. Couple of them suggested to apply for rezoning since the sub-division condo's are  located on the right side and as on the back of the lot.

Could you please help me understand the process and how complicated to make it happen.

thanks.

@Nathan Kalai  I think the first thing you need to figure out what is the "highest and best use of the property?"  Do a cost/benefit analysis of the 3 courses of action you mentioned.  What will it cost to rehab/flip or hold?  What will it cost to tear down and rebuild?  What will it cost to rezone and convert to multifamily? And what will the after repair/upgrade value be of the property for each option? 

Then, which one can you finance?  Which one do you have the team in place to be able to accomplish?  Could you make a respectable return to wholesale this to another investor who is looking for just this type of deal? 

Trying to learn a new process while being the owner/investor is a very disadvantaged position to be in.  I would discourage you attempting any option besides hiring a contractor to rehab like your original plan.  The other options are complicated and not the type of deal to learn as you go.

If nearly all the contractors say to tear down and rebuild, it may be a statement about the condition of the property.  I would seek the opinions of some other local investors about what they would do?  Maybe partner with one of them or wholesale it to them and ask to shadow them through the rehab process to learn how it's done?