Single Fam Vs Commercial New Construction Timeframe

7 Replies

Just Curious, maybe the more experienced investors can shed some light on this : Why does residential, single family new construction take ages to come to fruition while commercial moves quick?

Or is it something that happens in my area ( Massachusetts) ?  I see new construction spec builders take months to move from one stage to the next while commercial buildings are framed and roofed sometimes in days. why the disparity?

Follow the money!!!!   I am a contractor in Mass.  There are some residential builders that move just as quickly as the commercial builders.  It all depends on if their houses are selling quickly and if they are paying their contractors fair prices.  Some builders take their time because they dont want to pay top dollar for the quality contractors.  A good contractor will get the job done fast and the quality of the workmanship will be perfect.  Builders pay a premium for these contractors.  There are also contractors that do a good quality job, but take a long time.  These guys usually work for less money and aren't as popular with commercial builders, given their time constraints and bigger budgets.  If you head towards boston, you will find residential contractors and builders who move much faster.  The builders are selling at a higher price, so they can afford the better "subs"!!!

Interesting observation, Michael.

On a slightly different note, do you know of any contractors that would do small, mostly indoor cosmetic work?  I'm closing on a property in Haverhill that has some minor dry wall and plaster repair, installation of fans, changing plumbing fixtures, install backsplash in kitchen, painting, etc.