Building Condominums

11 Replies

I was curious to see if anyone has experience with financing and developing a  condominium building? This is in a amazing location, by the way!

The plans for this property call for 6 Luxury Units, each around 1800 Sqft.

Land Cost: $250,000

Build Cost: $1,850,000.

• The overall square footage of the building (including the ground-floor parking area) is 14,800. Taking this times $125/SF gives us an estimated construction cost of $1,850,000.

Total Cost: $2,100,000

Being a Realtor, I pulled comps for Condominiums in the Area, which show an average sell price of $253 SqFt and average days on market being 55.

-----

I think we could sell every single one of these 6 units at $505,000, and move them very aggressively at $485,000. 

--

Total Sales: $3,030,000

Total Cost: $2,100,000

= $930,000 Net 

Anyone accomplished something like this before?

Hoping someone can give me some guidance for lending or partners.

Thanks!

When I read the Title to your thread I couldn't help but laugh at the famous quote from "Rocky". I think he said "condominiums, I never used them" when they wanted him to invest his winnings. haha

Depends on the quality, and marketing. You have to also factor in costs for commissions, closing costs, holdings etc. either way, you will have a good profit of 700k+ if sold within a year.

Having seen and starred in previous versions of the condo development movie, here are a couple of cautionary thoughts: Do you have experience with significant construction projects? Your building costs sound low. Has an architect given you a construction estimate? Have you factored in construction loan interest expense? What about site preparation expenses?

There are a lot of things that can go wrong with one if these. Personally, I would not do this one - not enough margin to keep it from going bust if something goes wrong. That said, good luck.