RE license?

16 Replies

Hello All!

I just joined BP yesterday and I plan to buy my first rental property within the next 6 months. Quick question, should I get my RE license? I don't want to be an agent but I just think it couldn't hurt. Is it a waist of time and money? Thoughts, suggestions, benefits, experiences?

Thanks!

Welcome! As an investor and agent myself, I think if your goal is to be an investor - start with learning how to be an investor. Real estate school teaches nothing about that. If you want to pursue your license to help you find deals, that is great, but there is a learning curve involved in that as well. I would wait until you have a few deals under your belt and know that you want to grow your investing business before getting side tracked with the time and expense to get (and keep) your license. Opinions vary widely on this on BP - take my opinion with a grain of salt!

@Kristin Holmes If you want to sell RE get the license, if not you will end up paying $2-3k /year in dues. Unless you plan to purchase a lot of property per year and/or will buy & sell for clients I would suggest not getting your license. Find a good REI agent to work with.

I personally have my license and work as an agent part time but my goal is to sell enough properties/year to pay for dues and turn a good profit to put down on investment properties. Long term I want to be able to quit full time job and do full time RE agent work. For now my goal is to learn the trade secrets of being a RE agent, build amazing customer service, and network. The point I am making is I want to be an agent so for me it is worth getting a license. Having a license will not hurt you but you just have to make sure you are comfortable paying the dues and fees associated with being an agent and your REI covers those dues.

Best of luck :)

@Kristin Holmes Great question I was wondering about the same thing.

@Jonna Weber

@Shawn M. Thanks to both of you for the response that makes a lot of sense.