Investor or property first

5 Replies

What would be more important? I know both are but in what order? Is it better to find a good serious investor and find out what they are looking for or find a good property and find an investor for it?

Its better to have more than 1 investor all are different , some want turn key , some will take rough houses , some want expensive areas . Deals come when they come , if you dont have different types of buyers , you are dead in the water.

@ Matthew Paul thank you so much. Would you be able to give me some ideas on how to find an investor? Do I just call one up? Go to real estate agents and ask? How do I get them to know that I am serious about business?

I have to take the opposite side of this coin from Mathew.

Absolutely the most important thing is to find the deal! If it is a great deal, and you get the word out, you will suddenly have lots of very excited investors at your door.

I have been investing for over 15 years with several rentals and quite a few flips. I never considered wholesaling until about 8 months ago. It took me long enough to locate a great value property in my target areas that I wouldn't consider letting it go for a few thousand bucks wholesale fee. After listening to BP podcasts (especially #37) and reading some great BP posts on wholesaling I expanded my search area to include nearby cities where I have no interest in being a landlord or flipping. I found a great property with only a little effort. Just a few days after I had it under contract I passed out flyers at a local REIA meeting and posted an online ad on a local, free real estate site. I had an offer with earnest money within 24 hours and 8 other serious buyers called within the next few days! I kept all their names and contact info and when I found another deal in the same area I started at the top of that list and sold the home within a half hour. I made about $8K on each wholesale and I'm looking for more.