Bird dogging vs. Jumping into wholesale

13 Replies

I am new to investing and was wondering should I start as a bird dog or should I jump right into wholesaling? 

I have read a few books on real estate investing and wholesaling however I do not have a mentor which I feel may hinder me when starting out. Any suggestions? 

Check with your state real estate commission.  While wholesaling is usually legal in most states if done properly, birddogging (getting referral fees for finding property for someone else) is illegal in most.

If you are spending the time and the money to market for deals, why not wholesale them instead of birddog?  $500 is a standard Birddog fee... We average $7,500 on a wholesale, so you do the math!

Good luck!

@Paul Ewing   beat me to it. As I would interpret the term, "Bird dogging" is the illegal practice of brokerage services without a license. Now from a practical point of view are you likely to get in trouble for doing this, no probably not. There is no Bird Dog Police out looking for you. Just understand that is is likely illegal and that is a risk you are taking.

Other than that problem bird dogging is a fine way to start. But the difference is not that big. If you can find and negotiate a good enough deal, the ability to put it under contract is not that much harder.

If you do bird dog the person you are referring the deal may be able to write up the contract is a way that would allow you to be part of the deal and legally accept the fee.

Thank you @Paul Ewing  @Ned Carey  @John Horner  for the insight. I'm young and new and after a few readings figured that it would be important to start as a bird dog since I have no money but all the while my goal was initially to jump into wholesale.

Another question are there any hidden outstanding risks to wholesaling? 

There are hidden risks to all areas of real estate. 

I am going to make a bold statement that many will disagree with, but they are WRONG LOL