2 Replies

Hello BP Community,

I would really appreciate if anyone can answer this question for me. I have plans to meet with a realtor next week for a cup of coffee. To discuss my goals that I want to accomplish at this time, but I haven't had any success at keeping realtors motivated to continue working with me. The realtors I been dealing with are not acting in a professional way. I have come to a conclusion that most realtors are, so closed minded and not willing to explore new opportunities

My question is what to say to the realtor and explain to them the advantages with working with investors? What incentives can i provide them to keep their interest? I'm a rookie and I want to meeting to be productive.  thanks,

My goal is : expired Listings

Hi Lakeesha!

I am sorry to hear that the Realtors you have interacted with have not acted professionally. I would recommend presenting yourself professionally in this next meeting is a good starting point (not to say you have not been, but just a friendly reminder).  With a bit of professional dress and presenting a framework for what you intend to accomplish, if not a full plan to build off of such as your property search criteria and your long term goals, even a newer Realtor who is still learning, or a less than professional agent will be more likely to succeed and stick around because you have set and can manage their expectations from that point moving forward.  

In regards to the close-minded attitudes, I would say that some Realtors are comfortable in their niches and, as you mentioned, may or may not be open to different opportunities because they are comfortable, complacent, or have enough business otherwise.  Seek out someone who is and shares your vision, and screen for agents that work with expired listings since that is what you personally want to work on (note that this is a tough market and takes a thick skinned agent and not all will do this as a result).