Skip to content
General Real Estate Investing

User Stats

Votes
Justin Cabral
  • DORAL, FL
Votes |
What type of ROI can I expect on a $2,000,000 MF?

Justin Cabral
  • DORAL, FL
Posted Aug 15 2016, 17:07

Thank you for reading my post. Please let me know if I should be posting this in another category.

I'll start by saying that I am a newbie. Other than my primary residence I bought in 2011, I have yet to make any moves in the market and like many new investors I am scared to make my first move.

That being said I feel like if I can afford to, the right move to make is a big one. One address/as many doors as possible. I figure that a 2 Million dollar building with a few dozen units (maybe more) could be a target for my first investment.

Couple questions for those who are well educated in this space...

1- What type of NOI can one expect today on a property like that?

2- It seems like anything I have found listed online (Loopnet) claims to be in the 5-7% range. For a 1st time investor do you think is a 5-7% NOI is enough to tie up that much cash (20% down payment) on a 2M building?

3-  How would you go about looking for a "good deal" (below intrinsic value) in this space? What cities?

4- Should I only be looking in the state I live in?

5- How would you go about perhaps finding a successful mentor that will help find and go in the deal with me allowing us to maybe buy more than one building together?